A Break Due To A Break

BRK 1

However the many ways our readers of Grand Old Movies may have thought of our blog, I bet the Wright Brothers was one comparison that never entered anyone’s mind. Yet I’ve recently undergone an experience that, I’m astonished to say, is comparable to what Orville and Wilbur achieved all those many years ago at Kitty Hawk: a few seconds of flight done with a minimum of horsepower, followed by a quick landing. No doubt a remarkable accomplishment, especially for someone of my advanced years, but one, I must emphasize, I do not care to repeat. Not now, not ever. In future I’ll leave flying to the birds.

All of which is to say that, if the Three Musketeers who run our blog have any advice to young people starting out on their journey in life, it’s this: don’t run up escalators when walking (or even standing still) will do. The result of ignoring our own sound counsel is that one wrist is now out of circulation for the next few weeks and, being that I’m the blog’s official typist, no product can be produced. Hence Grand Old Movies will be on hiatus for the time being. But bones do eventually heal, and we shall be up and about and viewing films and telling you all about them quite soon. So stay tuned!

In the meantime, keep watching those Grand Old Movies…

BRK 2

Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. Oh no! Here’s wishing you a speedy recovery!

    Reply
  2. Yikes! Get well soon! Boy, this sure makes me feel better about my lifelong dedication to moving as little as possible. People can hurt that way! Be well, we need you back.

    Reply
  3. Hope you heal quickly! No GOM is a crime!

    Reply
  4. Oh dear! GOM, I’m so sorry to hear about your injuries! All of us here at Team Bartilucci HQ hope you’ll be on the mend ASAP! We’re sending best wishes for a speedy recovery for you ASAP!

    Reply
  5. Here’s hoping for a smooth and speedy recovery.

    Great photos you’ve posted here!

    Reply
  6. Oh. My. God. I broke my wrist back in October! I totally sympathize. Typing is a bitch, but I got quite handy at doing it lefthanded after a week or so. You might find you can still blog 🙂

    How bad is it? Did you have to have it reduced? I had that TWICE. Not funny.

    Reply
    • thanks so much! I have a lot of soreness and swelling in the muscles, and the cast prevents mobility, so typing can be nasty. I hope to get back to blogging soon.

      Reply
      • Yeah the swelling is awful isn’t it. And it takes ages to go. My wrist is still a little bit poofy on one side now. Are you doing the elevation thing? I used to have a pile of cushions to rest my wrist on.

        Chocolate is the best solace. 🙂

      • yes, I use piles of cushions to rest the arm; the cats like to share the piles, snuggling next to me, which is a comfort. And chocolate (next to the cats) is always the best solace!

  7. GOM,
    Boy, I needed this clever little article with these hilarious pictures. You’ve made my week! Those silly faces. Geniuses who I need to see more of.

    I hope all is well with you.
    Have a nice weekend!
    Page

    Reply
  8. Should we send hard boiled eggs and nuts?

    Reply
  9. Get well soon! I was on a vacation early in June and am trying to catch up with my blog reading list and just now read your post. Hoping that by today the wrist has been healing well for you.

    Reply
  10. Hope you are feeling better now, G.O.M. – sorry to be late in sending my wishes, but I’ve been all behind with blogging lately after changing jobs! Looking forward to reading your blog again when you are all better.

    Reply
    • Thanks so much, Judy! – the wrist is recovering, so should be back to blogging soon. And good luck with your new job!

      Reply
      • Glad to hear your wrist is recovering, and thanks, I’m starting to settle into the new job now!

Got a comment? Let us know!

